Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-07-30

2003-07-30 - 3:10 p.m.


As a child I was blessed with what tired parents and overworked educators like to call an overactive imagination. I saw escaped convicts hiding in the early morning fog. I pretended I was a good witch, or a Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader*, or a diner waitress - often all in the same day. Growing up in our tiny town of 250 meant that there were few other kids around. Books were my best friends. Without being pressed, my parents can detail the horrendous library fines racked up when I dropped Laura Ingalls Wilder's Farmer Boy into the bathtub. It was almost impossible for them to stop me from reading. During my two-week bout with chicken pox, I consumed no fewer than 25 Trixie Belden books, each purchased for $1.25 by my father at Ben Franklin.

One of my favorite series was Mary Norton's Borrowers. Norton's focus on character development, archaic names and botanical detail caught and held me for many years. My original set, stained by rainstorms and well thumbed, now sits on my living room bookshelf. The Norton book that most affected me, though, was Are All the Giants Dead? I think it's because of this book that I've always seen giants when I look at mountains or rock formations. While Mom drove the 45 minutes to my grammar school, I'd see a huge slumbering shoulder curve down the two-lane road. When I'd slide down a shale face to reach our local swimming spot, I was slipping down a rocky cheek and nose. It's a habit I've never lost.

Last Friday, when I was driving a friend up to meet Art Teacher, I kept catching giants out of the corner of my eye. There was one bumbling across Highway 49 between Nevada City and Grass Valley, headed toward a distant farmhouse. And the week before, when Cec and I headed over to Dillon Beach for a one-day getaway, I snapped the above picture. Tell me that's not a giant's head. Go ahead, try. That is a giant's rocky head as surely as I was born. If you like, I can tell you the giant's name, his family history, what tribe he belongs to, and sing you his native song. Maybe that's my overactive imagination at work. Maybe I should stop reading and re-reading children's books.

I didn't grow up to be a good witch or a Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader. I was only a waitress for a few months. But I love knowing that a little bit of child lives inside me, that even as I'm toting a new friend into the California hills, I can wink out the window at a sleeping giant.

*Don't ask. I even had blue pompoms and boots. Oh, the shame!



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag