Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

September 24, 2004

September 24, 2004 - 11:15 a.m.

I've driven the very short bus to a new home

September 22, 2004 - 3:13 p.m.

In the process of moving archives over to Typepad - things will look a bit wonky here for a while.

THANK YOU so very very much to Spoon and David for their advice. If anybody else wants to move over to Typepad, this is the link David hooked up that was o-so-helpful. Woo!

September 20, 2004 - 10:07 a.m.

Something I forgot to mention: my gold membership with D-land is about up, and I'd like to change over to Typepad. Does anybody know an easy way to export archives from one into the other? From what I've seen, it looks like a bitch, with everything having to be done manually. Ideas? Advice?

September 20, 2004 - 10:02 a.m.

It must be said that I am very much in love with le Coq, even on the days when he absentmindedly lets used coffee grounds accumulate in the sink until it clogs and garlic skins float in the stinky soggy drain; even on the days when he gets stupid drunk with a buddy and they scuffle in a parking lot like a couple of ten year-olds, emerging with scraped knees and torn t-shirts; even when he drops day-old skull-and-crossbones boxer shorts next to the bed for the nth time in a row, I love him, because in addition to all of that frustrating and dumb stuff, he also calls on his lunch break to ask how my day was; he rubs my back gently in the bathtub when I�m worn down and tired; he picks out books especially for me and is so excited when I like them; he sits on the floor with Niblet and me to play The Game of Life, even though it kills his back�and on and on and on, reminding me that I am very possibly the luckiest woman on earth to have such a guy.

And amazingly, he also scrubs out the sink when I point out the coffee grounds, apologizes for the drunken madness, and picks up his laundry when people are coming over.

Don�t look now, but three entire days have gone by without a crisis. I am almost�watch it now�breathing normally. After an impromptu dinner party on Friday night, the rest of the weekend was spent resting. We�d almost forgotten the meaning of that word, rest. We read books! Watched movies! Played board games with Niblet! We had, dare I say it, calm lives for a full 48 hours, and it was beautiful.

An awkward segue, because the office sludge referred to mockingly as "coffee" has not yet shot me up with caffeine

As mentioned, one of le Coq�s abilities is choosing books for me. Often they�re works I�d never pick up on my own, but he always seems to know what I�ll like. Case in point this weekend: Hyperion. I know, you�re thinking mass market paperback, pastiche cover�but no! The writing�s actually interesting, with, you know, concepts and stuff! So much so that I finished it Sunday morning and started the sequel, Fall of Hyperion, which is not as good, but that�s okay. (The cover, however, is shamefully bad; check the link and decide if it also reminds you of Charleton Heston�s mockery of Moses.)

The universe, however, will not allow me to simply read a book in a vacuum; while reading I started thinking about David, who would also dig this book. Lo and behold, when I turned the cell phone�s sound back on this morning (insert long pointless [even more than usual] story here), there were two calls from the lovely man. So D, expect a call on Wednesday after my stint as a conference worker/bitch has concluded.

A pronouncement of much importance

Should I ever be a single swinging girl again, a move to Texas will be absolutely necessary. Clearly, all the good men live there. Gentlemen, you�ve been much missed lately, what with my life exploding into flames and all, and I hereby promise to leave inappropriate comments on all of your sites within a week. Nanny nanny boo boo. (TM Sarah.)

Matter of fact, how the hell are ALL of you? Sheesh! I�ve missed you! Is everybody healthy, surviving, not eating berries off poisonous bushes? Drop me a line and catch up, y�all.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag