Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

September 09, 2004

September 09, 2004 - 9:52 a.m.

Here's what's happened during the last three weeks:

1. My neighbor came over to say that there was water leaking into her carpet from our shared wall. The insurance people said that my new bathtub was mis-installed two years ago. They ripped apart our bathroom, leaving us unable to shower/bathe at home, then put the whole thing back together. Did I mention that it's been averaging 95 degrees here and that le Coq works blue collar? That's a whole lot of hot sweaty man in a bad way.

2. On my way to order a keg for the bbq, my car becomes the meat in an accident sandwich. My hood is rucked up, headlight smashed back, bumper off kilter. The front bumper sustains a lovely vertical cut and weird half-moon punch from the first car's hitch. The back bumper is magically not dented, but is gouged and scratched all over. This wouldn't be such a big deal, except that...

3. I have no insurance because the fucking fucking fucking bank is holding my paycheck for five motherFUCKing days because it's a non-local check. In a UC town from a UC account. My insurance is paid monthly, so I AM SCREWED. My direct deposit needs one more month to kick in, so I haven't paid my insurance on time - OH, or the mortgage, or any of the other bills. I deposited the check on September 1; they want five business days, which due to the holiday means that they hold the check until Today, September 9. And all my howling at them gets me nowhere, which means...

4. That poor le Coq has to front money for the entire bbq. He doesn't mind, but it gets my panties all bunched to know that I'm affecting our plans like this, and that the poor guy has only seen my life be a complete disaster over the month we've lived together. I hate that.

5. So we think the tub is fixed, and we flash-clean the house and have the bbq. It�s a big hit; about forty people come through and eat massive quantities of shrimp and steak, plus tofu, salad�the whole shebang. Nobody throws up and nothing gets broken, so it�s a good party. On Monday I clean, wash a mountain of dishes and fall asleep on the couch. This is my good day.

6. On Tuesday the neighbor says the water leak is not fixed. This is not my good day. This is also the day I realize that they�re going to hold my paycheck for another three days. After work we go to shoot pool and talk with friends. I get more and more upset, exacerbated by two friends I perceive as being judgemental and mean � and I completely lose my shit. I cry and stammer and say dumb things in front of everybody and basically make a giant ass of myself. Again, not my good day.

7. That leads us to today, when the neighbor comes over to describe what�s in her dining room as a �flood�. I hate the neighbor. I hate that her only discomfort has been some rucked-up carpet, while I�ve endured weeks of no shower, no tub, ripped out tile, escaping cats, driving to and from work three times a day, etc etc etc. When I get to work (late) at 9, the contractor has left a message that he wants to come today at noon.

8. That�s where I am. In forty minutes I�ll drive my beat-up car with the hitch-damaged bumper home again, let them in, and let them tell me that it�s the drain, which isn�t covered by insurance, which means that I�ll have to try and get a home equity loan, which is totally impossible considering my income, my credit, my fucking stupid life that just needs to fucking end.

The moral of this story? A) folks, never tell me to just write no matter how bad shit is that�s happening. This is the result. B) Never, ever buy a condo. C) I have screwed up my life beyond the point of return.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag