Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

December 11, 2003

December 11, 2003 - 3:39 p.m.

Ah, here it comes. The breakdown I've been waiting for.

All week I've been waiting to cry. Usually when stuff goes wrong my eyes just fill up, boom, and then it's done. But this stress has been entirely different. It's been important to keep myself as together as possible so that when the mortgage company calls I'm put together - or so that I don't burst into flames when the bank says I'm a liar. I've kept everything pushed back for the past ten days or so.

I'm not good at that.

After work I'm going to spend time with Miss Beek. She is who I go to when I'm at my most spiritually bankrupt. We're going to have dinner, light a fire, and catch up. Open a bottle or two of wine. Put on some Golden Palominos.

And I'm going to cry like the world is ending.

December 11, 2003 - 11:48 a.m.

Oh happy day, calloo, callay!* Just checked bank statements; the appraiser's check went through just fine. Whew! Hello, nice lady, thank you for coming out when you're deathly ill to appraise my house - now please allow me to hand you a bad check, which will bounce like my head off rubber walls. Or the gods will smile, I'll get back some of the cash those ATM-stealing SOBs stole, and everything will be fine. Whatever.

My hands are killing me from last night's knitting. No more tub action for me. (Hush! Knitting! Nothing dirty!) I was trying to accomplish too many things at once. That's in direct conflict with my office work-ethic, where I mostly try to put my head down and ignore as much as possible. Yesterday was our monthly staff meeting, during which we played a "cross-cultural communication" game. Now, I love differences. I'm a believer in the additive value of someone who was raised in another country, brought up another way, or has alternative ideas. Hell, I believe American society (and certainly business) needs the influx of newness to keep us inventive. But I hate, hate being forced into stereotyping. Please don't say things like, "Well, the Japanese do x and y..." Bullshit. Some Japanese might do those things. Not all of them. That's like saying that all women like pink. It's crap, and it's crap of the worst, least thoughtful kind. I sat as far away as possible at the meeting and thought about Hungry Hungry Hippos. Was it just me, or does that game bring out the worst best in everyone? So.Much.Fun.

Today's lesson: do not wear red lacy boyshorts with your lowcut Modern Fit Flares**, even though said boyshorts match your sexy demibra. Don't wear them even though they rise just perfectly and show the bottom bit of your cheeks. Why? Because every time you bend to fill up your water bottle at the machine, you're going to show off your tattoo and panties to passersby. How white trash can you get? Might as well sign up to be a carnie at the State Fair right now, dumbass!

Tonight I plan to go home and read Oz books online, thanks to devbear. Muchas gracias! *Thanks, Lewis Carroll, you cousin-loving cokehead.
**I am such a damn sellout. The Gap sells these. I hate The Gap. But the pants were $19 each, and they make my ass look fantastic.

December 11, 2003 - 8:42 a.m.

Why do I keep waking up feeling more worn down every morning? Isn't sleep supposed to refresh you? I'm getting between six and seven hours a night - what's the dealio?

Ugh. I blew off counseling this morning to have more time in bed. 'Course, that was before Katze stomped her delicate kitty paws all over my head, before the snooze button stopped working, and before I realized that, FUCK, I forgot to get permission to be out of the office this morning. Yes, I emailed her immediately, but I'll still get bitched out at 10:00 a.m., and it'll be my own fault, too. Sigh.

I know that almost everybody's full of doom'n'gloom because of he weather lately. It almost never snows here, but the past week has been so gloomy that all the vitamin D is running around pissed off in our bodies. Give me sunshine or give me death!

I'd love to write more, but must - oh joy - go to the bank before entering The Death Chamber (aka my office). If I never, ever hear from Bank of America after this, it will be a-okely dokely by me. Lousy bastards.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag