Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-10-17

2003-10-17 - 1:17 p.m.

Just had to share this because it's funny - my Rob Brezny horoscope for the week:

The next couple of weeks will be an excellent time to purge any nagging karma that has been haunting your love life. You'll be ready to move on to new romantic frontiers once you clear away the residue that has been subtly burdening you. To achieve the proper spirit of rowdy fierceness, I suggest you learn the following country music songs and belt them out now and then: "You Done Tore Out My Heart And Stomped That Sucker Flat," "Get Your Tongue out of My Mouth, I'm Kissing You Goodbye," "How Can I Miss You If You Won't Go Away?," "I Wouldn't Take You To A Dawg Fight, Cause I'm Afraid You'd Win," "I Liked You Better Before I Knew You So Well," and "I Flushed You From The Toilets Of My Heart."

2003-10-17 - 8:33 a.m.

All of a sudden my blog life's full of Texans! I could draw a little chart and show everybody how it happened, but that would 1) probably only be entertaining to me, and 2) get me in some serious trouble. Hehe. Even Helen is headed back to Dallas for a while. What's the appeal, folks? As someone who's never been in the Lonestar State longer than it takes to change planes, what am I missing?

Just in case anybody's wondering, in my world, the Rangers and Arlington Stadium *do* count as an attraction. Chicken-fried steaks the size of a dinner plate do not. I'd like to keep my stomach lining intact, thanks.

I'm not being a little shit, here, either. I'm genuinely curious. If I left California permanently - and in years past I came very close - there are some site-specific things I'd miss very much. The smell of wild fennel as I bike along the American River. Being equidistant from San Francisco and Lake Tahoe. Being able to tell the elevation by the presence of craggy oak trees or manzanita bushes. The proximity to Trader Joe's, best grocery chain on earth. (I cannot move to a state without TJ's. Sorry.)

In other news, I'm boycotting the World Series. Yankees - Marlins? What the hell is there to be excited about? Am I supposed to be rooting for Jeff Conine here? The single solitary redeeming factor of last night's Red Sox defeat was that Clemens was pulled in the fourth inning. I actually did my happy dance, laughed and pointed at him in disgrace. It wasn't until an hour later, when Pedro gave up the second dinger to that traitor Jason Giambi (by the way, what's up with Giambi's sweating?) that I realized I'd furthered the curse. Crap. No Red Sox fan is ever allowed to celebrate the tiniest victory until the day *after* a game, when it's been officially recorded as a win.

This year's playoffs have to rank right up there with my least favorite baseball memories. Also in this stack: Gibby's fist-pumping homer off Eckersley in the World Series (still makes me grind my teeth), Jeremy Giambi's refusal to slide home (way to go, trade fodder), and the damned Royals beating St. Louis in the 1985 Series. I loved those Cardinals. How could you not adore the goofy loping of Willie McGee in center, the comic grace of Ozzie Smith at short? How did the fugly Royals - with the tobacco spitting, ball scuffing Bret Saberhagen as their leader - take out my lyric Cards?

Anyway. It's another Steinbrenner Series. I say boycott.

The car is loaded down with DVDs and knitting. The Kermit jammie pants are packed. There's a bottle of wine in the trunk. I have a journal and my favorite pen, purchased in Germany.

It's time to pet-sit.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag