Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-06-04

2003-06-04 - 8:24 a.m.

If you haven't already, check out the pictures from last weekend.

Sammy, NOOOOO!!!!!

Dinner Party Plans
A few days ago, a co-worker asked me to come up with some menus for a dinner party for 8. Here�s what she ended up with. Keep in mind that they wanted filet mignon and wanted to grill. They�re also pretty traditional eaters. If I�d been cooking this for them, I would have talked them into ribeye � it grills better because of the marbling � but it�s their cash cow.

I asked her to par-cook the bacon, so that it would still protect the filets, but would end up crispy after time on the grill. Wrapping the bacon around the filets and securing with kitchen string also helps keep them uniformly thick, which ensures an even cooking time. If you�ve never grilled sweet potatoes, you must try it. Slice �em about a quarter inch thick, toss with some olive oil, and put on a low grill until marked and soft. I�ve made dinner out of a few and some grilled shrimp with a lime squeezed over quite happily.

Salad
Zucchini ceviche. Here�s how: scrub some very young, very tender zucchini. Slice vertically paper-thin on a mandoline or with a knife; toss with a soft extra virgin olive oil, fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper. To serve, pile the salad on plates and, using a veggie peeler, shave some hard cheese over the top. Cheeses that would be good include parmesan, asiago, Rumiano dry jack or ricotta salata. If you have any flat-leaf parsley or fresh mint in the house, mince up a tablespoon or so and toss it over with the cheese. Serve with crusty bread. Peasant food all the way, and good with cheap Italian Pinot Grigio.

Entr�e
Grilled bacon-wrapped filet mignon served on grilled asparagus and grilled sweet potato planks, sauced with compound butter. Just mash together some soft butter with blue cheese and minced scallions; taste it on a cracker to make sure you�re happy, then roll it into a cylinder in plastic wrap and refrigerate. (I asked her to buy some jarred green peppercorns to add to the butter, but I'm pretty sure she didn't. Her loss.) Slice off what you need and let it melt atop the meat. Whatever you do, don�t overcook filet mignon. If anyone�s interested, there�s a great article about composed butters over at a la carte. His articles in general are thoughtful, well-researched, and informative. I recommend the site highly.

Wine: Zinfandel all the way. No need for Cabernet here; it�d overwhelm the beef. The Zin will be spicy enough to hold up to the blue cheese, but not so much that you can�t taste the grill-given smokiness.

Dessert
Trifle, West-Coast style. Strawberries, blackberries and cherries marinated in Grand Marnier and a tiny crack of black pepper, then layered with buttermilk pound cake (I'd cheat and pick one up at Freeport Bakery) and honey-sweetened cr�me fraiche. Serve in brandy snifters so that you can see the layers. Omit the alcohol if you have kids, then marinate the fruit in honey and mint instead.

*********

Nutter Butter Mother
My mother is driving me up the wall. If you recall, she's good at this. I never did get an apology for all the nasty things she said. In fact, she didn't speak to me for a week or so. Then out of the blue, she called and within ten minutes, was criticizing me again. (I was at work; she knows I have to answer the phone.) Since then, she's left a series of pissy messages on my answering machine. She knows damned well that I have voicemail on the cell, but refuses to use it. On Sunday, after the debacle with getting my car stuck, she called literally as soon as I was back in cell range. Her greeting? "Where the hell have you been?" Well, Mom, since you ask, you called at 6:00 and 10:00 p.m. yesterday (Saturday night). If I wasn't home at 6:00, did you really think I'd be home at 10:00? And do you forget that other people have lives and sometimes leave the house?

What she wanted was for me to walk over and buy her a ticket to a specific show at the U's shiny new performing arts building. Gee, Mom, you have both a computer and a telephone; they have this magical thing called "will-call" these days; buy your own damned ticket. I swear, I'm this close to breaking my promise to Daddy and telling her off. He asked me not to because it will set off months of family infighting, but I've had about as much as I can take. She has yet to ask me how I am during any of these conversations. When I do tell her about anything, she launches into hyper-critical mode.

I love my mom more than anything in the world, but she keeps driving me further away, and our relationship can't take much more. We're supposed to have lunch on Sunday so that I can give her the ticket (!). Here's to hoping that I come out unscarred.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag