Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-05-07

2003-05-07 - 8:41 a.m.

Half a cup of mint tea and two bites of bagel later, I'm still annoyed with my gastro system. I know nobody cares about this story, but I'm telling the stupidness anyway.

Imagine: I'm 19, I'm single, and I'm living in an armpit CA city with my folks, going to junior college. I'm working two jobs: one at the local OfficeMax, running the copiers 30 hours a week; the other grading papers and writing tests for my German professor 10 hours a week. I'm taking 19 units at the jr college and another 6 units through an exchange program - for which the work is all in German. I'm saving money to send myself to Germany for the summer - again, to work. I'm studying my fourth year of German and my second semester of Japanese.

In other words, I'm stupid and psychotic.

Then I meet an amazing guy; we'll call him P. P is engaged. But she lives in Idaho; he sees her every two months or so.

I haven't met anyone I like in two years or so. I've been on a couple of shitty dates with a strange Chinese guy from work who wants to take me home to meet his family. He won't let me say no. Another man from work, middle-aged and in marital trouble, has started stalking me. He follow me home, follows me to school, leaves me notes on the windshield.

I don't have time for any of this crap, not even P, with whom I want to spend time. But I ditch work, ditch school and spend hours with P listening to Lou Reed in his shitty apartment, shared with his alcoholic father who glares at me as if I've stolen something. I fall for P hard. He's bright, quirky and not at all conventionally handsome.

There's a critical point here. P and I never, never fool around. We write very long letters (I still have his; they average 23 pages), we talk about Germany and art, the Velvet Underground, David Bowie and the Illuminatus trilogy. I attempt to explain modern feminism; he smiles and suggests we go to the park to take a walk.

Then one day P tell me that Fiancee is coming to visit. The world drops away from me. Slowly, I go back to work, back to class and try to pick myself up.

My stomach often hurts. I attribute this to stress, to forgetting about meals to catch up on kanji practice. On my birthday in April, my folks take me out for dinner. I'm nauseated before we eat, more so afterwards, and finally somebody clues in. I'm not pregnant, so I must be sick.

The doctor never touches me, just orders me around with his index finger. Take this off. Lift that. Push here; how does that feel? And at the end of three separate visits, he tells me, smiling broadly, that I have a bleeding ulcer. I'm 19 years old.

I went to Germany. Stalker guy had himself regressed and sent me letters, quoting his regressor (sp?), saying he believed we'd been married in a former life. I threw the letters into my host family's recycle bin, carefully shredded. He followed me for the next five years, leaving more cryptic notes, hiding behind my office dumpster. The Chinese guy bought me jewelry and cried my final day at work.

P married his girl. She's gorgeous; red hair, slender legs and a singing voice the angels desire. I went to the wedding, fortified by a friend and large quantities of vodka rocks. It wasn't pretty. He tried to talk with me; the wife dragged him away. Unusually these days, they're still married. They're happy.

I ended up with a D in Japanese, four months in Germany working in a hotel, and a stomach that makes decisions independent of logic. Eating tomatoes one happy summer day? Not the rest of the week, buckaroo. Too much acid. Pigging out on ice cream with friends? Prepare to meet your maker.

So a day of nausea I can handle. But save me from stalking, schoolwork, German and loving the wrong one.

Thanks very much.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag