Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

December 16, 2003

December 16, 2003 - 3:55 p.m.

Best sandwich ever: lowfat dill spread, sliced cucumbers, havarti cheese on toasted wheat. The co-worker who brought this is getting one hell of a Christmas present. Coffee? Tea? Me?

Doesn't it suck when your codeine wears off? Monster mother of a headache is back. At least my belly's full of vegetables and fat. Mmm, havarti...

Oh my god! I forgot to write about the lunch from hell! On Saturday Mom dragged me to a holiday 'luncheon' [shudder] with some of her friends at Logan's Roadhouse. Where do I even start? One, that's a chain restaurant. Ew. Two, they specialize in beef. Dude. How many times do I have to say this? I don't eat dead cow.. Three, these women are awful. I'm talking big hair, scrape-able layers of foundation and talking with their mouths full.

For two hours I sat in a restaurant where people throw peanut shells on the floor, listening to a phlebotomist rage on about her office. Sweetie, I'm sure your work is difficult, but for god's sake, take a breath! Mom and I split the worst possible caesar salad; I played with a baked potato that was the size of my head. (Seriously, Idaho, what's up? Why are baking potatoes now bigger than a toddler?) Then things took a turn for the worse.

They started talking politics.

Living in California while Arnold governs is bad enough. But to listen to people chatter about voting for him was more than I could take. I stared straight across the table, willing the conversation to end. I cleared my throat. I sighed heavily. And then, when Phlebotomist looked over, I gave her the are you sure you want to do this? look. She opened her mouth to speak - and I put on my coat. Enough torture. Mom, you owe me BIG.

December 16, 2003 - 9:50 a.m.

Ahem. If you are the person who just placed an obscene phone call to my office, grunting at me in multiple languages and offering me an orgasm, FUCK OFF. I can give myself orgasms perfectly well without your nasty-voiced help, thankyouverymuch. And by the way,

World, leave me alone!!

Am I weird to be all excited about writing a guide to senior management recruitment during holiday quiet time at work? The office will be almost empty, and I'll sit scrunched at the 'puter, detailing how to use Photoshop and Pagemaker to put together a smokin' ad, plus how to write a database query to return only the "A" candidates. Geekdom, I am thy whore. This is the thing: one way or another, I'm going to get screwed next year at work. I might as well do my best to be useful. And this way there'll be a huge set of writing samples when job hunting next time.

I am extremely tempted to shop online today. Lush is calling my name. Unless you have either 1) a small family fortune or 2) a sugar mommy/daddy, do not start shopping at this place. I dream about their bath bombs. No other place makes cruelty-free products that smell so damned good. The honey soap makes me want to take a big bite. Rowf!

Thanks to Kat I've been thinking about my horoscope. From Rob Brezny: Is there any "pollutant" produced by the person you were in the past that could be valuable for the person you will become in the future? I like this idea very much, that there can be things you screwed up in the past that are now powerful tools. Makes me want to sit down and figure out what's there for me to use.

Thanks to all of you - and especially Ator's Christmas card, I'm feeling much better today. Last night I built an enormous fire using applewood. Fell asleep reading about southern Georgian (the country, not the state) food in flickering light. No TV. Turned off the cellphone and dialed down the volume on my home phone. It was absolutely lovely. If nothing else, now I have the perspective to deal with the weird shit that's being said about me.

Here's the thing: I've never been good with the extremes of criticism or compliment. One makes me defensive, the other makes me think you're either insane or want something from me. With time it's become easier to take the well-meant compliment - so maybe it's time to start taking the criticism differently, too. Bri-Cat's full of shit. He's wrong to overreact that way. But I know that he can't take what he dishes. So why take it personally? And as for the other person who's been critical of me - well, frankly, she's known me for all of three weeks and should be fucking smarter than to critique anyone based on so little information.

My task is to find a way to creatively express that I disagree with their opinions without anger or bitchiness. It's going to take some work, but that's ok. In the meantime, fuck 'em. They don't know enough. And it's not as if every person has to like me.

Except, of course, for y'all.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag