Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

November 21, 2003

November 21, 2003 - 1:26 p.m.

Yes, I owe you details about the concert - if only to make Tobic happy - but there's something pressing on me that's more important.

I'm an only child. Yeah, yeah, all the assumptions about single kids fit: I'm selfish, spoilt and assume too much responsibility. But I also have always been jealous of siblings. As much as families can be horribly complicated and hurtful, there's a bond that arises when humans are raised together - an imprinting, if you will - that isn't formed any other way. And for a long time I was jealous of those who were close to their siblings. I thought I'd never find someone to love in that way.

Now I have.

Readers who've been around a while will remember Nom de Plume. (No, no linking; doesn't feel right.) For those who are new, you should know that we met online just when J and I were breathing our last. Nom, without knowing it, saved me. He was funny and bright, sexy and crafty. He made me laugh to no end. He could talk me into almost anything - including taking off my panties one night in an alley while walking home alone. I fell asleep to the sound of his voice often. When we finally met in July, I adored him instantly. The man just oozes love.

It wasn't the same for him, and that's his story to tell, should he ever decide to. What matters is that when we didn't work out as a couple, I had a very hard time. He stuck with me, which was so unexpected that I forgave him - and myself for not being good enough. We've been friends since. Once we moved past the sex stuff, parts of our hidden pasts surfaced. Both of us have had deeply scarring problems with depression. We've both come close to suicide. Sometimes we talk frequently; sometimes he'll disappear for a week or two, sometimes I will. But I feel linked to him permanently. And finally today it hit me. I love him the way I would love a brother.

Lately Nom's been having a hard time. Very hard. Some of it's bad decision making - of the kind we can all relate to, the FUCK it, I'm in pain, so give me another drink or six kind. Some of it's his past, which includes a huge, life-altering relationship that ended. Some of it's that he doesn't know his value. There's more, but I've made my point. He's hurting.

It's hard for me to help him from here. We're separated by many, many miles. When the thing that he needs most is a warm body in bed to comfort him (no, not sex, duh), all I can offer is a scratchy cell phone voice. And part of this is my overactive ego, imagining that I can offer him any kind of help. I try. I alternatively yell at him (like today) and offer him a shoulder. I don't know what else to do. If I yell too much, he'll stop telling me anything at all. But as I've said before, this is what family is about. It means that I love you no matter what you do, no matter how much you screw up. I love you enough to wake up at 3:00 a.m. because you're drunk and sad.

This is my shot, Nom. I love you. You're the closest thing I've ever had to a brother. You silly, frustrating, talented man. Please, please take care of yourself.

November 21, 2003 - 11:54 a.m.

The best part of my week: Sunday night.

Just when I'm at my worst, whiny and stressed by moneyworkfamily, Scratcher takes my face in his hands and says, "God you're pretty when you smile."

Ah fuck. Cheese factor of 10, but it got me.

November 21, 2003 - 10:43 a.m.

I work with some wacky people. One in particular - I'll call her Dumbass - is borderline slow. She's excellent with numbers, terrible with people. I've been tempted to club her with a three-hole punch on many occasions. Today, however, she provided the sole entertainment during an otherwise excruciating office birthday celebration. Remember now, I work with the campus bigshots. None bigger.

Biggest of the BigShots brought in this horrible toy for the celebration today. It's a mechanical foot-tall cow that jumps up and down, mooing. It would entertain a four year-old for about ten minutes - which of course means that my co-workers were limp with delight. After watching said cow perform six or eight times, Dumbass said to Biggest of the Bigs, "that's the greatest thing you've accomplished as the Biggest Big!" He looked at her, slightly awed by her stupidity. "No, no, I'm just kidding, BigShot."

To which he replied, "So the next time I see you on your bike and mow you down with my car, I'll just be kidding, too."

Swear to god. You can't pay for moments like that. And my comments aren't work-appropriate?!



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag