Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-10-30

2003-10-30 - 3:01 p.m.

All day I've been thinking about marriage.

Women are always bitching about having low self-esteem; it's the entire reason that stupid mags like Cosmo exist, it's the reason that Jenny Craig and the inventor of Prozac are bazillionaires - but behind all the pseudo-psych Oprah crap, there's some truth. American women don't feel that good about themselves, especially as teenagers. I was no different, and my mom's suicide attempts and hospitalization selfishly* convinced me that my presence was only detrimental to other people. While a fat wet tonnage of therapy has helped throw off the idea that I'm emotional toxic waste, it's still hard to believe that someone would want to be with me, much less get married. There's this fundamental disconnect - if you want to love me, if you do love me, there's something wrong with you.

One of my last holdout girlfriends in the office, a 35 year-old woman who's been with her guy for ten years and has lived with him for seven, said yes to his marriage proposal last night. She came in all grins and flashing diamonds** this morning. I immediately remembered how much Scratcher hates the words fiance and fiancee because of the ownership implied, the "I've completed my ur-goal as a wo/man" connotation. That exact tone was in my co-worker's voice. Even though she knows her man loves her, though they've already built a life and a family (hey, dogs count!), this woman feels a sense of pride that he picked her to marry.

I would give up a full year of my life to see a happy, long-lasting marriage. Yes, damn it, I want a role model. All the happy marriages I know go to hell, largely due to the pressures of daily life and living with the same person year in, year out. All the long-lasting marriages I know are full of carping and recrimination. These people barely speak to each other. My parents are still married, but they're legally separated after years of bitter fighting. My maternal grandparents hated each other. My fraternal grandma was so afraid of my grandpa that she used to hide in corners and throw up. No wonder I think the people who want me are halfway to crazy. What the hell kind of role models are these? Show me people who signed their certificate years ago and still love each other. Please.

Since reading Helen's entry today, I've been wondering what it would take, both in me and in someone else, to make me want to be committed. (God, even writing that is difficult.) During that weird little month when I dated five different people (which must stand as some sort of family record, but we�ll discuss that later), some things came to mind. That�ll be the next post. But for now, I wanna know: what do y�all think about marriage? If you�re married, are you happy? Why did you get married? And if you�re not, do you want to be? What would it take?

*****
*Yes, I said selfish. Believing that my mother's pain had anything to do with me was incredibly self-involved, and I'm ashamed of it.

**I fucking hate diamonds. Hate 'em with a passion that's worthy of an entire 'nother entry. DeBeers is owned by a family so corrupt, so limp-winkied and incest-bound, it makes me nauseous. Not to mention the thousands of Burmese and Ghanian children digging in mines to collect said shiny clear rocks. If you're gonna get married, buy something else. Like a car. Or the down payment on a house. If you absolutely must buy a diamond, buy one used. Old mine diamonds from the 1920s are available all the time on eBay. Grr.

Cue end of rant.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag