Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-10-10

2003-10-10 - 2:02 p.m.

My part of California�s been buffeted by winds the past two days. Between the trees dumping off leaves and the dust, my allergies are out of control. I�m trying very hard not to medicate, because the drugs make me sooo stupid. Allergy meds suck. You either 1) take them, because you�re tired of spending every afternoon mouth-breathing like a 15 year-old boy at a mud wrestling match, or you 2) don�t take them, and end up trying to tear off your stupid nose because there�s a spot inside that itches so much you�ve named it Muchitchistan (say it out loud, come on, Much-itch-i-stan�good job!). What options we have!

I blame J for my allergies. Swear to god, I never had them a day before he moved in. I�d never had mold in the bathroom, either � and within weeks our shower ceiling was covered with these pinkish growths. Come to think of it, I also lay a couple of other things at his feet. And for once, I�m going to come right out and say them here. Hold on tight.

The reason that I cannot, will not, get into a relationship right now is because that fucker stripped every bit of self confidence that I had. How? By letting me spend two years on my knees trying to cure him of impotence. Would he talk about it? No. Would he go to a doctor? No. Did he have this problem when we started seeing each other? No. Did he have the problem when he was cheating on me? NO.

That son of a bitch convinced me to do things that Jenna Jameson would find obscene. And I never complained once. Women, you think you give long blowjobs? No, no, my sisters. I�ve been clocked at 60 minutes. Can you say numb lips? Can you say inventive? I�m not talking just stroking, just sucking, for an hour. I�m talking every technique you�ve ever read about, ever heard about. Plus there were other, non-penis related acts. I based all my activities on the idea that men are visual creatures. There was dancing, stripping, lingerie, lack of clothing altogether. Toys. Sex outside; sex inside. Dangerous sex, plain-jane sex, exhibitionist sex. Him watching me. Me watching him. NONE of it worked. I think the last year we were together, he came maybe six times. Including twice in Paris, which was like a gift from the nookie gods.

To put all of this into perspective, before him I�d had a decent number of partners, including another long-term relationship. None of them had ever had difficulty with me. I�d never had difficulty with them. And that was another thing � I stopped orgasming, too. I was bored to tears. After an hour-long session with his winkie, he�d give me maybe five, six minutes. By then, I didn�t even care. I just wanted him to get off me and shower so that I could finish myself off with the trusty g-spot vibe.

Why did I put up with this for so long? Well, first of all, I loved him more than I knew I could love another human being. The first year, maybe year and half we were together, I felt like we�d completed the mammalian imprinting. That�s how intense the bond was. I just could not imagine life without him. As I�ve written before, when I realized he was cheating, I wanted to kill someone. Mostly myself, for being so stupid. Can you imagine the pain? He could orgasm with her, the slutty bitch who�d cheated on him in their relationship, who treated him like shit at work every day � but not with me, the one he claimed to love, who fucking did Kegels for an hour each day in the office?

No, you can�t imagine it, until you�ve been hurt that badly. I loved him so much that the idea of him fucking her made me physically ill.

I haven�t written about this part before because I�ve wanted to respect J�s privacy. We tried counseling once he�d stopped seeing her, because he wanted me back. I spent four or five months being numb. And one day, right before a counseling session, I went to J�s apartment and told him to never, ever call me again. It was over.

All of the energy I used to spend trying to make J happy has, instead, been spent cleaning up my life. I�m almost 60 pounds lighter. I�ve negotiated a new set of professional options. I�ve cemented friendships. I�ve taken risks � like encouraging an Internet friend to fly halfway across the country and meet in person. I�m dating two men � both of whom claim I give the best head of their lives. (Ironic, isn�t it?) I�m flirting with more. I�m paying my bills, living my life, loving who I want to love.

I�d like to say that none of the self-doubt J engendered in me remains. But last weekend, with Geologist, it came flooding back. We had sex once that night, twice the next morning. And damn it, he didn�t orgasm. Best blowjobs of his life, he says, but no spill. I was willing to deal with it the first night. It was late, we were tired, we were new to each other. The second time�he had me pretty distracted. But that third time�no. There was no reason for him to hold back. Sure, there are men who need a specific set of sensations to finish. But sheesh, you�re 30. It�s not like you�ve never had sex before. If you need something in particular to cum, �fess up! Say something! Don�t make me guess!

Here is the equation to sum up Geologist:
Geeky + well-educated + good conversation = Yes
Inexperienced + recovering from ex + goofy = No
Sweet tempered + Portishead fan + gorgeous legs = Yes
Doesn�t read + doesn�t care about food + doesn�t pay attention to the world = No, no
Cycles + has enthusiasm for his job + good kisser = Yes
Doesn�t orgasm despite all my efforts = No, No, NO.

Maybe if I were five years younger, he�d be a project to work on. Maybe if I hadn�t deal with J. But I don�t want another project. I want someone who can tell me the truth. I�m giving him a gentle signoff tomorrow at lunch.

So you guys tell me: am I a bitch?



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag