Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-08-18

2003-08-18 - 1:25 p.m.

Have a pre-album-release listen to new Bowie tracks. I always get a bit nervous before he releases a new album; you never know if you'll get the outstanding Earthling or the ultra-obnoxious Black Tie, White Noise. Heathen, which is most current until the newbie is set free, is amazing.

2003-08-18 - 9:25 a.m.

Like pretty much every other employed person, there are things I dislike about my job. There are plenty of good things - I have great bennies, I work for an educational institution - but on occasion that good stuff is overwhelmed by the need to run screaming out of the building if just one more person talks to me about the goddamn coffee. You see, I'm the coffee maven. No shit, it's in my job description. I can't believe that at this level they pay me to collect $4.00 a month from each person who uses the machine, but they do. Further, they pay me to hit Costco or Smart and Final and pick up bags of 500 eentsy red stirrers and more cholesterol-laden fake creamer. It gets even funnier when you realize that I don't drink office coffee. It's disgusting. It tastes like someone's compost pile from 1977. I stick to Peet's whenever possible.

Maybe I could handle coordinating "cleanup signups" and the like if it weren't for my physical location in the office. I sit in a dinky space, wheeling out of the cube twenty times daily to access my records(!) because there isn't room to turn around, facing forward into the aisle and looking at the coffee maker all day. Two things about this - one, everybody assumes that because I face the aisle, I want to chat. Let me put this as politely as I can. Darling co-workers, I no more want to converse with you between meetings than I want to put a carving knife into my temple and stir. Even if we get along like squirrels playing grab-ass on an oak tree, don't interrupt me when I'm focused. Okay? We clear?

The second reason it makes me nuts to face this direction is that everybody assumes I'm fascinated by the machine. If it works correctly, they turn to me with the paper cup held aloft, grinning like Napoleon returning from exile. "Mmm," they crow. If I don't at least nod in recognition, they repeat with emphasis. "I said, mmm." Uh, yeah, I heard you. Did you want me to clap?

If the machine fails them in some way, the reaction is immediate. There's panic on their faces when they shriek out, "Chocolate! The machine's out of mochas!" If they react this way to a simple cup of caffeine, I have to wonder what a real crisis is like. Jesus, what if they spill said liquid? Will I need to get them a paper bag so they don't hyperventilate?

I recognize that there's always something in every job. I don't have to deal with customers, I'm not anybody's secretary. But my god, shut up about the coffee already! Don't hire someone like me to do database management, event planning, executive recruitment and coffee club! It's utterly ridiculous. If we can't negotiate a change to my position description, I'm never, ever putting more chocolate in the machine. So there.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag