Works in Progress
Wavy scarf for Christmas present in Manos del Uruguay (mostly on the shuttle, so it's slow going)

Current Obsession
Head.Must.Stay.Above.Water.

Last Google Search
Airline prices from Sacramento to Memphis - my parents have both sold their houses!

Woo-Hoo!
We have tickets for the Old 97's on October 16! Happy anniversary, honey!

Loving
My Netflix queue, which saves me from real TV

Munching
Burritos with home-cooked pintos, sharp cheddar and spinach

Cooking
Roasted peppers with crumbled queso fresco

Garden stuff
My poor garden - totally neglected and dry.

Archives
April 2003
May 2003
June 2003
July 2003
August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004

You talkin' to me?
eMail
Notes
Profile
Amazon Wish List

Many thanks to:
Diaryland
PixelScripts
Artwork � Lian Quan Zhen

Previously...

i got a new attitude - September 24, 2004

- - September 22, 2004

- - September 20, 2004

Is this thing on? - September 20, 2004

- - September 15, 2004

2003-07-07

2003-07-07 - 9:43 a.m.

I�ve been thinking about family.

I have nine cousins via Daddy's sister, my aunt Evelyn. On Mom's side there are six siblings. Those six have produced 13 children. This means I have a total of 22 known* cousins. I wouldn't recognize a single one. Why? Well, because Mom and Dad left Detroit about ten minutes after I was born and started moving. First to New Mexico, then to Arizona, then to California. Growing up there wasn't much money, which meant few trips "back home". Grandparent time was pretty limited. Daddy's father passed when he was 13. Grandpa Rzepecki died of bone cancer when I was 7.

The two grandmas (we called them Big and Little) were more complicated. Big was a deeply unhappy woman who vented her anger toward Mom and me. It�s unfortunate that my clearest memory of her is of an argument with Mom, which concluded with Big saying, �and take that pagan whore daughter with you!� I�ve tried to forgive her; by that time a stroke and untreated severe diabetes were taking their toll, but it�s difficult. Little Grandma was tough in a different way. She wanted a girly granddaughter, a child who would appreciate Barbie distinctions and wear pretty dresses to Mass. I had perpetually skinned knees from roller-skating on wet asphalt and had never been baptized. Poor thing, she gave up on me quickly in lieu of easier grandchildren.

Had we lived in Michigan, I would have grown up going to family Christmases with cousins, probably would have spent the night at their houses. I would have known my extended relations the way that they know each other � which I�ve witnessed on rare trips to Detroit. There�s no blame to be placed. My parents did the best they knew to do, which is all that parents can do. My relatives lived their lives without us, which is the natural thing. But what all this has meant for me is that family means Mom and Dad.

As I�ve made clear, Mom is a little loopy these days. She has good weeks and bad ones. On the Fourth we managed to get through an entire day gracefully. It helped that we had three dogs and two cats to shower with affection; it�s easier to love animals than each other. As I�ve also mentioned, Daddy says this is his last year in California. He wants to sell his property and move to Kentucky or Tennessee, where cost of living is less and the weather would be good for his arthritic knees. Mom will also likely move in the next few years in the interest of finances. My family, such as it is, is diverging.

When I left J, I gave up a niece and nephew, two sisters-in-law, parents � the whole package. This has always been a problem. Whenever a relationship ends, I lose an entire surrogate family and a lover. I miss his sister, the 40-something architect who took me to 99-cent Japanese import stores. I miss his mom handing me Dr. Ohta�s stomach tablets charged with cardamom and cassia bark. I miss the 11-year-old niece and 14-year-old nephew�s birthday parties.

I am a much-blessed person. Friends like Art Teacher, whom I�ve now known for half a lifetime, are so valuable it�s impossible to overestimate. Friends like Beek and Cec let me give and ask for love. But always, always, I walk around a little bit vulnerable. During the formative years, there weren�t enough places to go for support. I didn�t have anybody to ask for help. Mom and Dad worked full time, then came home to feed steers and muck out the chicken coop. They were just plain too busy. I became a woman who changes her own flat tires because it doesn�t occur to me that anyone will help. I became a woman who will give a loved one anything they need, anything, but has a hard time asking that loved one to feed my fish for a week.

Today I went to a website that my cousin Paul has created to celebrate family. There are links for each of the nine siblings, their spouses and children. There�s a lovely picture of uncle Clyde and Aunt Evelyn with eight or nine grandchildren. One of the girls, I don�t know her name, looks to be about eleven years old. She could be me at the same age. We have the same eyes, same cheekbones, same body type. I looked at her and looked at her, enlarging the jpeg until the pixels grew fuzzy, blurring our family resemblance.


*Daddy has a brother who disappeared in 1970 or so; no one knows what happened to him.



Comments: Speak your piece!

former / latter

Attack of the Blogs
Adrift in Japan
All Guinness
Ator's Ramblings
Bumptious
Dating God
Dooce
Everyday Stranger
Going Jesus
Hatamaran
I Don�t Think
Jessica Lovejoy
Kat's Paws
Maison Pants
Mimi Smartypants
No Regrets
Real Live Preacher
Spoonerisms
The Dillhole Spotter
Tobic
tremble dot com
Was I Screaming?
wench77

Talents 'n' Tempters
Anna Chambers
BearSkinRug
David Goines
Keri Smith
Leafages
Loose Tooth
Lush
Peach Berserk
Rob Dario
S. Britt
Sideshow
The Bird Machine
Tim Biskup
Toothpaste for Dinner
X-Entertainment

Brain or Bust!
The Atlantic
Babble
Found Magazine
How Stuff Works
Knot Mag
McSweeney's
The Morning News
OED Word of the Day
Project Gutenberg
Salon - Sex
Something Positive
Tomato Nation

Knitastic
Bonkers Fiber
Chicknits
devBear
Elann
Grey Eyes
In Sheep�s Clothing
Interweave Knits
Knitty
Lorna's Laces
Perfect Touch
Red Lipstick
Rowan
Stitch Guide
Sweater Project
The Yarn Co.
Threadbear
Webs
White Lies Designs

She's Crafty!
(thx, Beasties)
American Science and Surplus
crafty chica
Darma Trading
Feria Urbana
Fine Art Store
Get Crafty
Glitter Boards
Jejeune
Loobylu
Not Martha
Readymade Mag